Georgia AAP Launches Behavioral Health Too!

The Division of Behavioral Health manages programs and services delivered by DBHDD’s community-based behavioral health providers, which are divided into three tiers:

TIER 1(Comprehensive Community Providers) 

Comprehensive Community Providers are DBHDD’s community service boards, which serve as the public safety net and offer a core benefit package, as well as additional specialty services.

  • Psychiatric Evaluation
  • Behavioral Health Assessments
  • Case Management and Skill Building
  • Nursing Evaluations
  • Individual, Family and Group Counseling
  • Peer Support Services
  • Diagnostic Assessment
  • Addiction Services
  • Crisis Intervention


TIER 2 (Community Medicaid Providers)

Community Medicaid Providers ensure choice for individuals receiving Medicaid and offer a core benefit package.

  • Services same as Tier 1
  • Only serves Medicaid covered individuals (MRO)
  • May also deliver Tier 3 services but not required

TIER 3 (Specialty Providers)

Specialty Providers offer an array of specialty treatment and support needed in the continuum of care.

  • Housing
  • Supported Employment
  • Youth Clubhouses
  • Peer Wellness Centers
  • Assertive Community Treatment (ACT)
  • Intensive Case Management
  • Addiction Treatment and Support
  • Psychosocial Rehabilitation
  • Behavioral Health Crisis Service Centers
  • Crisis Stabilization Units (Youth and Adults)
  • Intensive Family Intervention
  • Prevention Services
  • Mobile Crisis
The Division of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities supports people with intellectual and developmental disabilities and provides them with opportunities to live independently and in the most integrated setting possible.
To be eligible for services, a person must have an intellectual disability—or a closely related developmental disability, such as severe autism, cerebral palsy, or epilepsy—that substantially impairs intellectual or adaptive functioning.

The disability must have originated from birth or during the developmental years (by age 18 for an intellectual disability, or by age 22 for a developmental disability).

BH2 Seeking Advisory Committee Members

Behavioral Health Too (BH2)! is now recruiting members to serve on the advisory committee. The committee is composed of former and current pediatricians who provide feedback and ideas on the new project to improve their patients access to behavioral and mental health services.

The committee currently meets the 1st Tuesday of every month at 12PM via Zoom.

Anyone interested in joining can contact Hannah Smith at

Access to crisis services

For immediate access to routine or crisis services, please call the Georgia Crisis and Access Line (GCAL) at 1-800-715-4225. GCAL is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year to help you or someone you care for in a crisis.